My 30-day TV fast, day 30(ish)

[For those of you who care about things like this, the thirteenth was day 30 of my TV fast, but I’m writing this on the twelfth and publishing it on the fourteenth.  So, I guess I’m writing this in the past (when you read it), but it is about future events (when I write it).  I’m so sci-fi.]

There isn’t really much to report about my TV fast.  It was pretty low impact, except that I missed the start of the NFL season, but at least my Lions and my hubby’s Packers both won (yes, I’m a Lions’ fan, is that a problem?  No?  Good).  I didn’t miss it much, except when my kids were sick and kind of snuggly and I couldn’t cuddle up with them and watch a movie.  I might even try to convince my hubby to sell the TV.  We’ll see.

Anyway, since it had so little impact, I am acknowledging that it was kind of a cop-out.  What I really should have done is an internet fast.  That is where I waste the most time these days.  And that’s why I’m writing this post before my 30 days is really up.  We are going to Colorado to determine where we want to live when we move (what neighborhood, or rather, what neighborhoods we don’t want to live in) and we leave tomorrow (or yesterday by the time you read this).  I think, though, I am going to do a 30 day internet fast beginning the fourteenth (today).  I haven’t determined the rules yet, but I still have two more days to do that (it will probably involve at least getting online once a day or so to clear out my email inbox).

The point is this: I’m going to use that time to determine if I want to keep blogging or not.  I feel like this whole thing has taken a turn that I never really intended.  I just want to evaluate why I do it, what my goal of blogging is, how much time I want to invest, etc.  If I determine that I want to keep blogging, I’ll launch my new blog when my 30 days are up.  If I decide not to continue, I’ll let you know then.

[As an aside, I get, like, at least 100 new posts in my feed reader a day, so I’m not going to be able to read everything when my 30 days are up.  So, if you are reading this and you write something really cool between now and October 14th, please leave a link to it in the comments of this post.  Otherwise I probably won’t read it.]

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lisha
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 15:28:11

    I’ll be praying for you! This is a wonderful thing you’re doing! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

