How preparing my house for sale is NOT like coming to Christ

So, as I stated previously, we are moving out of Utah and, thus, are preparing to sell our house.  For those of you who have never gone through the process, it mostly involves packing a lot of stuff that isn’t necessary for everyday living and cleaning everything.  I see something interesting, though, in the process.

Sometimes our bodies and minds are compared with houses.  The analogy is that Jesus comes in and takes possession of the house and doesn’t just start redecorating; He starts remodeling.  He knocks out walls and makes additions until it is the place where He wants to live.  It’s a process, though, and He is the one who does it, not us.

I know a lot of people who operate under the incorrect mindset that they have to get things straightened out before they can come to Christ (or return to Him after a hiatus).  This is so wrong.  If I had to prepare everything for Christ to come and live in my “house” the way I do when I am trying to sell my actual house, then I would still not be ready.  I never would.

You see, that’s the thing about what Jesus did for me (and you) on the Cross.  While I was still a mess, He died for me.  While my “house” was falling apart and going to be condemned, He bought it (for a very great price).  He saw the potential in me when nobody else did (before I ever existed, in fact) and thought that I was worth the cost.

How awe-inspiring to think that the God of the universe thought that I (you) were worth the price.  Why do people say Jesus is their best friend?  It’s because He laid down His life for them (us).

So, the next time you think you have to get your life together before you can come to (or return to) Jesus, think again.  Remember what He said here:

Matthew 11:28-30

Amplified Bible (AMP)

28Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy-laden and overburdened, and I will cause you to rest. [I will ease and relieve and refresh your souls.]

29Take My yoke upon you and learn of Me, for I am gentle (meek) and humble (lowly) in heart, and you will find rest (relief and ease and refreshment and recreation and blessed quiet) for your souls.

30For My yoke is wholesome (useful, good–not harsh, hard, sharp, or pressing, but comfortable, gracious, and pleasant), and My burden is light and easy to be borne.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: You can! I Can! Jesus is able! « pinchofgrace

Leave a Reply

