Life In Utah: Myths About Mormonism

Life In Utah: Myths About Mormonism.

Yet another post about the differences between Biblical Christianity and Mormonism.

One thing I really want to address (which it seems was added as an after thought) is this:

In addition, how many Utahns will vote for a Mormon candidate next year in the GOP primary because of his Mormonism? Romney didn’t win his party’s nomination, yet garnered an overwhelming 90 percent of the vote in Utah’s 2008 Republican primary.

It’s something I’ve been giving great thought to lately, but from a different angle.  The question that I’ve been pondering is would I vote for a candidate simply because he or she is a Christian?  The answer is no.  All power comes from God, so I truly believe that He can use anybody to accomplish His will.  I have never been a single issue voter and I don’t have any loyalty to any particular party, so I try to vote for the candidate that best represents my values.  It isn’t always easy and sometimes I get it wrong, but at least I try.

That being said, I don’t know if I could vote for a Mormon to be President (mostly because of the final “myth” addressed in this article), but I think it would depend on what he or she stands for.  I try not to get political here, but I have to say that next year’s Presidential election is not giving me much hope for change on the horizon.  Luckily, though, my hope comes from the Lord.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisha
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 19:35:59

    Have you ever heard of/read the book “Is the Mormon My Brother?” by James White? It’s an older book. My husband and I read it last year together are were grateful for the loving but firm way he showed that Mormonism is not compatible with biblical Christianity. It has helped us immensely; we have had 3 or 4 sets of LDS missionaries come by in the last 6 months or so, and it’s helped us to be a better witness for Jesus to them.

    Reply

  2. Stacy
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 20:56:29

    You know, we have lived in Utah for ten years and have never been visited by Mormon missionaries. Some people from the neighborhood we used to live in came by once (not missionaries) and we think they got scared off when we told them we went to the Baptist church down the street. They must have put our names on some kind of “Do Not Visit” list or something because nobody has come by since then.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

