My 30-Day TV Fast: Day 1

So, I’m finally getting serious about getting the distractions out of my life, like I talked about here.  Today begins my 30-day experiment.  To be fair, I’m not sure how much going TV-free will effect me, since I don’t actually watch that much TV.  I do, however, usually have it on, which is just ridiculous.  There’s no reason to have a TV on for noise,  I have Spotify.  I also have NPR and two kids to occupy my time (though, the kids don’t always occupy my mind, just my time).

Here are the rules that I have set for myself during the next 30 days.  I don’t think these are the rules that everyone would necessarily have for their own TV-free journey, but to make sure it actually has an impact on me, I had to add something more to it than just, “no TV.”

1. No TV.  Not for me or the kids.  I’m sure they don’t understand this, since they are one and three, but they are with me most of the time, so they can’t watch TV if I can’t.  That is, not if I’m around.  Maybe if they are hanging with their dad while I’m pulling weeds in the front yard or something, then they can watch TV if he wants to.  I’m sure it’ll be interesting when football season starts, since my 30 days ends Sept. 13th and the regular season starts with the Packers (my hubby’s team) at home on Sept. 8th.

2. No streaming, either.  No Hulu.  No Netflix on the Wii or online.  Maybe I’ll make an exception for the 1 minute YouTube videos people post on Facebook.

3. No DVDs or Blu-ray discs.  I have to make this rule (along with the previous one) because I know myself too well.  I know that if I can’t watch TV and I don’t make a statement outright about these other things, then I will just watch something else all day.  Most people can probably just say no TV and get by with just watching one episode of the X-files in the evening, but I need to make a clean break.

4. If things are going well after two weeks, then I might relax rules 2 and 3 a little.  I’m not saying that I will, I’m just giving myself the option of picking up that one episode of the X-files in the evening if I’m doing well the rest of the time.  It’ll depend on how things are going and if I want to do it.  Honestly, there might be some other things going on that will keep me busy enough that I won’t even miss it, so I might not even notice when those two weeks are over.

The whole point of this is to give more attention to my kids, my husband, my household, my God.  I’m planning to read some books that I’ve been ignoring: Love and Respect, Boys Should Be Boys (re-read), Bringing Up Boys and Bringing Up Girls.  That’s a pretty short list, but I don’t want to take up all my time with reading.  The biggest key to my success will be finding something for my son to do, so if you have ideas for a bright, active 3-year-old, I’m all ears.

[Disclaimer: Starting on a Monday is kind of a cop out for me, since it’s grocery day, so the whole morning is occupied with planning the grocery shopping and then going, then putting away the groceries, well, you know.  Anyway, I just needed to put that out there.  I was going to start yesterday, but I had a Netflix movie that I only watched half of on Saturday and I didn’t want to wait a whole month to finish it because it was pretty good.  So, there it is.  I’m weak, but today is a new day.]

Leave a Reply

