Everything is NOT as it should be!

I’m that girl.  You know the one that I’m talking about.  The one that says the things that you wish you were brave enough to say yourself.  The one that tells it like it is.  The one that is honest to a fault.  Yeah, that’s me.

My philosophy is simple: a little pain now will save a lot of pain in the future.  You’re not doing anybody any favors by sugar-coating everything.  You’re also not doing them any favors by saving them from the consequences of their actions.  You know that saying, “whatever doesn’t kill me makes me stronger?”  Well, it can’t make you stronger if somebody else does the work for you (that is, they clean up after your mistakes).  I don’t always speak the truth in love, though, which is something that I work on a lot.

Having said that, there are some things that people who claim to be Christians do that irritate me that I thought I would go on a rant about.  These are the people who give Christians a bad name and I resent them for it.  The one that is bothering me today is when they say things that sound vaguely Christian in an attempt to sound spiritual, but really they are the exact opposite of the truth.

Today’s example: “Everything is exactly as it should be.”  I actually tasted bile when I read this on Facebook.  If you have ever read your Bible, then you know that everything is not as it should be (thank you Adam and Eve for that, by the way).  We live in a fallen world.  Things should be perfect.  We should have perfect communion with God.  Nowhere in the Bible does it say that everything is as it should be.  It says we will have trials and they will be good for us if we persevere (see James 1).  Romans 8:28 says, “And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose,” but this oft misquoted verse does not say that we will have good in this life.  Nor does it say that things are as they should be now.  God works all things out for good, but sometimes we don’t see the good until the next life.  So, please don’t spit your self-help post-modern garbage at me in an attempt to show your “faith and belief.”  You might be able to convince yourself and everyone else that you are “spiritual,” but you can’t fool God.  Saying you’re a Christian doesn’t make you one.

Okay, I’m going to get down off of my high horse.  What’s something that “Christians” do that bugs you?

[Side note: I know that I am not perfect and have many flaws.  I’m not trying to be judgmental here.  I just don’t want people to believe things about me that aren’t true because somebody who claimed to be of the same faith told them something wrong.]

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pastor Bryan Lowe
    Aug 06, 2011 @ 18:47:02

    Fantastic! Please hold on and keep writing the way you do!

    Reply

  2. Jen
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 06:33:40

    I have one! When someone refers to a departed loved one as “looking down from heaven” or being “there in spirit” during special occasions or family get togethers. There is no Biblical evidence than anyone in heaven cares about the world any longer. They are doing what they were intended to do, worship our King.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

