Where have you been?

Of the five people who might read this blog, some of you might be wondering where I’ve been.  The rest of you were probably with me, so just humor me.

During the last week in July my husband, my two kids, and I went to Indiana to visit my in-laws.  We stayed at a cottage on Lake Shafer, visited with Nana and Papa, as well as cousins (my kids’ cousins, that is).  We swam, slept late, relaxed, went for a boat ride, went to Indiana Beach, visited a dairy farm, and probably a million other things I can’t remember.  It was great to see my husband’s family and watching the kids play with their cousins was a ton of fun.

Things that I won’t miss from this trip: 1. My teething baby waking up all night (her timing is perfect).  2. The humidity.  That’s pretty much it.  I had a great time.

My husband and I had a lot of time to discuss some things that have come up recently that could mean big changes for our little family.  I think I alluded to this in my last post before leaving for vacation, but I’m still not ready to give any details.  Just be praying for God’s will to be done in us and through us.

It’s good to be back home in Utah.  I leave you with two thoughts that are on my heart today.  First, it is good to take rest and comfort in the Lord.  Step back from your busy life occasionally to be still in Him and enjoy His presence, His creation, His love, and His abundant grace.

Psalm 46:10–Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth!

Exodus 33:14–And He said, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.”

Psalm 116:7–Return to your rest, O my soul,
For the LORD has dealt bountifully with you.

Matthew 11:28–Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

The second thing that is on my mind today is that God wants good for us.  No matter the circumstances, even if things look bad from here, God works things out for good.  He has a plan for us and it includes a future and a hope.

Jeremiah 29:11–For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

Romans 8:28-39–And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.  For whom He foreknew, He also predestined to be conformed to the image of His Son, that He might be the firstborn among many brethren. Moreover whom He predestined, these He also called; whom He called, these He also justified; and whom He justified, these He also glorified.
What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us? He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him up for us all, how shall He not with Him also freely give us all things? Who shall bring a charge against God’s elect? It is God who justifies. Who is he who condemns? It is Christ who died, and furthermore is also risen, who is even at the right hand of God, who also makes intercession for us. Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? As it is written:
“ For Your sake we are killed all day long;
We are accounted as sheep for the slaughter.”
Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.  For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. sheila4hastenhome
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 22:20:56

    Encouraging thoughts. I was just in Romans 8 this morning. (Perhaps that is the reason for the link–either way, thanks for mentioning my post!) 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

