In

If there is anything that we can learn from the Lord’s Prayer (and we should learn many things from it), then it is probably that it is okay to pray for ourselves, as long as we pray for the right things.  The third post on prayer is about praying for yourself.  So, what does the Bible have to say about praying for our own needs?

IN

1 Samuel 1:15–But Hannah answered and said, “No, my lord, I am a woman of sorrowful spirit. I have drunk neither wine nor intoxicating drink, but have poured out my soul before the LORD.

We should pray urgently for our needs, pouring out our souls before the Lord.

1 Kings 3:10-13–The speech pleased the Lord, that Solomon had asked this thing.  Then God said to him: “Because you have asked this thing, and have not asked long life for yourself, nor have asked riches for yourself, nor have asked the life of your enemies, but have asked for yourself understanding to discern justice,  behold, I have done according to your words; see, I have given you a wise and understanding heart, so that there has not been anyone like you before you, nor shall any like you arise after you.  And I have also given you what you have not asked: both riches and honor, so that there shall not be anyone like you among the kings all your days.

If we ask for the things that are important to God, He often (but not always) blesses us in other ways.  (I don’t want anybody to think that I believe that everybody will be materially blessed in this life.  I store up my treasure in heaven and that is where we should all desire to be most greatly blessed.)

Psalm 46:1–God is our refuge and strength,
A very present help in trouble.

Pray for strength in times of trouble.

Psalm 138:3–In the day when I cried out, You answered me,
And made me bold with strength in my soul.

Pray for boldness, especially in adversity.

Hebrews 4:16–Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.

Approach the Lord boldly in time of need.

Matthew 6:6–But you, when you pray, go into your room, and when you have shut your door, pray to your Father who is in the secret place; and your Father who sees in secret will reward you openly

Don’t make your prayers for others, make sure they are for the Lord (I think of this especially during corporate prayer.  You don’t need to share all of the details during your prayer or while making requests of others.  God knows the details and you can talk to Him about the specifics when you are alone with Him if you really feel like you need to.  I cannot express enough how much I detest when prayer time turns into gossip time.)

2 Corinthians 12:8,9–Concerning this thing I pleaded with the Lord three times that it might depart from me.  And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

Pray for healing, but accept whatever answer He gives.

1 John 5:14,15–Now this is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us.  And if we know that He hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we have asked of Him.

I think the key to this verse is “according to His will.”  If you ask for things that are not in His will, He will still answer, but the answer might be, “No.”

Matthew 26:39–He went a little farther and fell on His face, and prayed, saying, “O My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from Me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as You will.

Pray for what you want, but make sure you want His will.

Exodus 33:13–Now therefore, I pray, if I have found grace in Your sight, show me now Your way, that I may know You and that I may find grace in Your sight.

Pray for guidance and grace.

James 1:5-8–If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him.  But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for he who doubts is like a wave of the sea driven and tossed by the wind.  For let not that man suppose that he will receive anything from the Lord;  he is a double-minded man, unstable in all his ways.

Pray for wisdom.  Also, pray believing that you will receive the things you ask of God.

There are lots of other things that you can pray for yourself.  God wants to provide for your needs, spiritual gifts, and many other things.  Feel free to share more verses about praying for your own needs, or share specific needs that you have in the comments.

 

Leave a Reply

