Up

One way to get over the things in our lives that we are afraid of, or to get better at things we don’t do well, is to just do them more often.  If I pray continually, theoretically, my prayers will get better (more effective) and I will get more comfortable.  So, I’m going to do that today.  When I was a brand new Christian a young woman told me one way to pray is “up, down, in, out,” that is, praise God, confess your sin, pray for yourself, pray for others.  I know there are other devices that people use to pray (one that comes to mind is ACTS–adoration, confession, thanksgiving, supplication), but I’m going to use this device, for no particular reason.

Having said all of that, I’m going to post some Bible verses in the next few posts that fit into those categories.  [As a side note, I like to back up my random thoughts with Scripture because I am not a theologian and I want people to know that I’m not just making this stuff up.  I just think that, if God has already said it, why do I need to reinvent the wheel, right?  Some of my interpretations may be different than others’, or maybe even wrong, but I can at least trace most of what I say and think about God back to something in the Bible.  I welcome any comments about my interpretations, especially where I may be in error.  But, I digress.]

UP

So, let’s praise God for who He is and what He has done for us!

Exodus 15:2— The LORD is my strength and song,
And He has become my salvation;
He is my God, and I will praise Him;
My father’s God, and I will exalt Him.

Praise Him for being our strength!

1 Samuel 2:1-2–And Hannah prayed and said:

“My heart rejoices in the LORD;
My horn is exalted in the LORD.
I smile at my enemies,
Because I rejoice in Your salvation.

“No one is holy like the LORD,
For there is none besides You,
Nor is there any rock like our God.

Praise Him for your salvation!

Psalm 9:1-2–I will praise You, O LORD, with my whole heart;
I will tell of all Your marvelous works.
I will be glad and rejoice in You;
I will sing praise to Your name, O Most High.

Praise His marvelous works!

Deuteronomy 10:21–He is your praise, and He is your God, who has done for you these great and awesome things which your eyes have seen.

Praise Him for all He has done for you and all that you have seen!

Psalm 106:1–Praise the LORD! Oh, give thanks to the LORD, for He is good! For His mercy endures forever

Praise Him for His grace and mercy!

Nehemiah 9:6–You alone are the LORD;
You have made heaven,
The heaven of heavens, with all their host,
The earth and everything on it,
The seas and all that is in them,
And You preserve them all.
The host of heaven worships You

Praise God for His Creation!

2 Samuel 22:4, 47, 50–I will call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised;
So shall I be saved from my enemies.

The LORD lives!
Blessed be my Rock!
Let God be exalted,
The Rock of my salvation!

Therefore I will give thanks to You, O LORD, among the Gentiles,
And sing praises to Your name.

Praise God because He is worthy to be praised!

Psalm 50:23–Whoever offers praise glorifies Me;
And to him who orders his conduct aright
I will show the salvation of God

Praise God because it glorifies Him!

Please feel free to leave more praises (including specific praises) in the comments.  He is good and we should remember that daily.

Leave a Reply

