Down

This is my second post about prayer, the part about confessing our sins.  I’m just going to get to it.

DOWN

Leviticus 5:5–‘And it shall be, when he is guilty in any of these matters, that he shall confess that he has sinned in that thing;

Why should we confess our sin?  Because God says we should.

Leviticus 26:40, 42— ‘But if they confess their iniquity and the iniquity of their fathers, with their unfaithfulness in which they were unfaithful to Me, and that they also have walked contrary to Me, . . . then I will remember My covenant with Jacob, and My covenant with Isaac and My covenant with Abraham I will remember; I will remember the land

If we are faithful to ask forgiveness, then He will be faithful to forgive.

Job 13:23–How many are my iniquities and sins?
Make me know my transgression and my sin

Ask God to reveal your sins to you so that you can ask forgiveness.

Psalm 26:2–Examine me, O LORD, and prove me;
Try my mind and my heart.

Even secret sin, unintentional sin, every sin is known to God.  Let Him make it known to you, as well.

2 Samuel 24:10–And David’s heart condemned him after he had numbered the people. So David said to the LORD, “I have sinned greatly in what I have done; but now, I pray, O LORD, take away the iniquity of Your servant, for I have done very foolishly.”

The Holy Spirit convicts us of sin, but God will “take away [our] iniquity” if we ask Him to do so.

Jeremiah 31:31-34–“Behold, the days are coming, says the LORD, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah—not according to the covenant that I made with their fathers in the day that I took them by the hand to lead them out of the land of Egypt, My covenant which they broke, though I was a husband to them, says the LORD.  But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the LORD: I will put My law in their minds, and write it on their hearts; and I will be their God, and they shall be My people.  No more shall every man teach his neighbor, and every man his brother, saying, ‘Know the LORD,’ for they all shall know Me, from the least of them to the greatest of them, says the LORD. For I will forgive their iniquity, and their sin I will remember no more.”

And if we ask forgiveness, He will remember our sin no more.

Psalm 51:17–The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit,
A broken and a contrite heart—
These, O God, You will not despise.

Ask God to break your heart and spirit.

Luke 7:41-47— “There was a certain creditor who had two debtors. One owed five hundred denarii, and the other fifty.  And when they had nothing with which to repay, he freely forgave them both. Tell Me, therefore, which of them will love him more?”
Simon answered and said, “I suppose the one whom he forgave more.”
And He said to him, “You have rightly judged.”  Then He turned to the woman and said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I entered your house; you gave Me no water for My feet, but she has washed My feet with her tears and wiped them with the hair of her head.  You gave Me no kiss, but this woman has not ceased to kiss My feet since the time I came in.  You did not anoint My head with oil, but this woman has anointed My feet with fragrant oil.  Therefore I say to you, her sins, which are many, are forgiven, for she loved much. But to whom little is forgiven, the same loves little.”

If you have a lot of sin that needs to be forgiven, He will forgive it; if you have little sin, He will forgive that, too.  All we have to do is ask and accept the forgiveness that He offers.

1 Chronicles 7:14–if My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land.

It isn’t just confessing, though, it is turning from our wicked ways.

Daniel 9:9–To the Lord our God belong mercy and forgiveness, though we have rebelled against Him.

What is sin, but rebellion against God?  Mercy and forgiveness are yours if you ask Him.

Ephesians 1:7–In Him we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of sins, according to the riches of His grace

Because of the blood of Christ forgiveness is available to us.

Nehemiah 14:18a–The LORD is slow to anger, abounding in love and forgiving sin and rebellion.

God wants to forgive our sin.  So, what are you waiting for?

1 John 1:8-10–If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.  If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.  If we say that we have not sinned, we make Him a liar, and His word is not in us.

Everybody has sinned, so we might as well admit that that includes us.

Again, if you need to confess something, or if you have more verses about confession of sin, leave them in the comments.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. juliemooreonlife
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 15:11:20

    Thank you for all those verses but I have a question. In Colossians 2:13-14 Paul tells us ALL our sin have been forgiven. This is what happened when Jesus died over 2000 years ago on the cross, He died for all the sin of the world. If we still need to ask for forgiveness what are we being forgiven for?

    He forgave sin of the past, present and future. There is no stipualtion on when He stopped forgiving sin. He didn’t stop forgiving me when I believed in Him because when I believed I was forgiven for all sin.

    The New Covenant salvation thru Jesus Christ and is not like the old in which they had to continue to sacrifice to be forgiven over and over. Jesus was the ultimate sacrifice and there will never be another sacrifice for sin again. Hebrews 7:27, 9:12, 10:10 and 1 Peter 3:18 all tell us Jesus died once for all sin.

    To continue to ask to be forgiven for sin that has been forgiven is to express doubt that He finished what he came to do and that was to cleanse us as white as snow from sin. I agree we need to express sorrow for sin and ask the Holy Spirit inside us to help us to turn from it but then thank God for His wonderful forgiveness, not ask Him to do it again.

    So sorry to write a book. I am not a debater but just wanted to tell you what I believe. is that ok?

    Reply

    • Stacy
      Jul 14, 2011 @ 09:23:11

      I wouldn’t disagree with you about the fact that our sins are forgiven, once and always. But to say that we don’t need to confess our sin (which we, unfortunately continue to do), is like saying that you never have to say you are sorry when you hurt somebody you love; or like saying that you only have to tell you kids or husband you love them once and it covers it forever.

      We don’t need to “ask forgiveness” in the sense that we must continually renew our claim to salvation, you are right about that. But we do need to “work out [our] own salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who works in you both to will and to do for His good pleasure” (Phil 2:12b-13). The Holy Spirit still convicts us of sin after we are saved by grace. It isn’t only because He wants us to be made aware of it, but because we should admit it (confess it) to God.

      Besides, Jesus told us to pray that the Father would forgive our sin as we forgive others (Matthew 6:12). I can’t believe that that means we will not be forgiven any of our sins if we fail to forgive another. We must strive to “be perfect, just as [our] Father in heaven is perfect” (Matthew 5:48). In my understanding it is the striving that matters, which includes admitting when we make mistakes (that is, when we sin), and asking for forgiveness. I ask other people that I love for forgiveness when I wrong them, and it is in that same sense that I ask God to forgive me again each time I sin.

      Oh, and I am a debater, so I hope that is okay. I love discussing Scripture with other believers, so I hope you continue to call me out when I misrepresent something. I hope all of this clarified what I meant.

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Taking Another Look 110811 « Mennonite Preacher

Leave a Reply

