God’s work or mine?

Remember that story from Genesis 16 in which God tells Abram that he will have a son, so Sarai gets this idea that, since she hasn’t had any luck producing a child, Abram should take her maidservant, Hagar, as a wife and produce children for Sarai through her?  What a mess.  Hagar does conceive and produces a son, but it isn’t the son that will fulfill the promise that God made to Abram.  God said that He would multiply Abram and give him many descendants, but He didn’t give Abram the details of how He would do that.  So, since Abram didn’t know how God was going to do this thing, he decided to take matters into his own hands.  As if God needed our help to fulfill the promises He makes to us.

I look at this story and shake my head, not because I can’t believe that Abram and Sarai would do something like this, but because I see myself in their story.  How often have I heard from God that He wants to do something (in my life, in the community, in the life of somebody I know) and thought that it meant that I had to do something?  Jesus says in John 6:29 that the work of God is to believe in the one He sent.  The work of God, then, doesn’t necessarily involve me doing anything other than believing Him.  Sometimes it does involve some work on my part and, I have to admit, I’m not that good at telling the difference.

I guess my point is this:  God will do what He wants done.  He might use me in the process, but He might not.  Whatever it is that He wants done will be done.  It’s just that, if I get in the way and do what I think He wants done, things might take longer, since He’ll have to clean up my mess before getting on with what He wanted to do.  This reminds me of when my son wants to help me do something.  So many things in our Christian walks are paralleled in parenthood.  Like the help that my son wants to give, I’m sure God appreciates that I desire to help Him, but wishes that I would listen more carefully to what He is saying before I do it.

So, to reiterate a point that I’ve made before, just because it’s good, doesn’t mean that it is for me to do, or for me to do right now.  I’m getting better at listening to Him, but I have a long way to go.  Praise God, though, that nothing I do can separate me from His love.  Like a loving parent, He cleans up my mess, hugs me as I apologize, and gives me another chance.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. juliemooreonlife
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 20:54:02

    You’re right thank God for second chances and I thank Him for His forever love.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

