A good idea, but is God in it?

I just want to start by saying that I love my husband.  He isn’t always as open as I am with this kind of stuff, but he is an amazing man of God and I am so thankful for him.  He always has a word for me just when I need it.  I don’t want to get too gushy and embarrass him, so I’ll just leave it at that.

Now that that has been said, here’s what I’m really thinking about.  My church was formed about three years ago to reach the people of Smithfield, UT and northern Cache County for Christ.  It isn’t an easy thing to do because of the dominant LDS culture.  So, I have been thinking and praying about how to reach out to the people around me who I love since 2008, but even more so since my oldest child was born.    We even moved here from Logan, UT (only about an eight mile move) so we could be closer to the people of Smithfield.

The thing is, though, until recently I haven’t found a way to reach the people around me.  I am by nature introverted, so it isn’t easy for me to meet new people (I think I wrote about this before).  I had been hearing from a lot of friends around the country about a group called MOPS.  So many women all over were being blessed by this ministry that I decided to look for a MOPS group locally so that I could join.  Well, it turns out the closest MOPS group is about 45 miles away, so I started thinking that I should start a group here.  I started telling my husband about it and got an information packet.  I even contacted our pastor to see if it was something that our church would support.  Everybody seemed to think it was a good idea.  And that is when my hubby spoke a word to me that cut me to the core.

We were laying in bed and he said, “Have you prayed about this?”  Ouch.  I assured him that I had, while at the same time thinking that I probably hadn’t prayed about it as much as I should have.  “Why?” I asked.  And he said that his Sunday school lesson had been about when David decided to build a temple for God, but God told him not to and that his son would do it.  To put it in simple terms, David wanted to do something good, but it wasn’t for him to do, so God said no.  It’s not that what David wanted to do was wrong.  In fact, it was a good thing and something that God wanted, just not then and not from him.

So, here comes the application part: there are lots of good things that we can do in the name of the Kingdom, but if we ask God He might say no.  Don’t take it as a sign that what you wanted to do was wrong, though, because it might just be the wrong time or it might be for somebody else to do.  Just make sure you keep plugged in with God so that if He doesn’t want you to do something (or if He does) you’ll know.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lisha
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 19:24:24

    I found your blog this evening after a dear friend posted the link on their profile – and oh, how sweet the timing of the Lord! This post is convicting and encouraging. Thank you so much for being a willing vessel and for sharing what God is putting on your heart!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

