Unashamed

Mark 8:34-38–When He had called the people to Himself, with His disciples also, He said to them, “Whoever desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow Me. For whoever desires to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake and the gospel’s will save it.  For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world, and loses his own soul?  Or what will a man give in exchange for his soul?  For whoever is ashamed of Me and My words in this adulterous and sinful generation, of him the Son of Man also will be ashamed when He comes in the glory of His Father with the holy angels.”

I’m an introvert.  I’ve always been more comfortable in my own head than anywhere else.  I also, however, long to be known.  That’s why this comes easily.  It’s like letting people in without having to admit to myself that I’m doing it.

That being said, fulfilling the Great Commission does not come easily for me.  Sharing the gospel is not difficult for me because I am ashamed, but because I am not bold.  I don’t want Jesus to be ashamed of me, so I need to remember that He did not give me a “spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline” (2 Tim 1:7).

So, here it is: I know that I have different beliefs from some of those who might be reading this, but I am claiming the power that God has given me to speak boldly in His name for, “The LORD is my helper; I will not fear.  What can man do to me?” (Psalm 118:6).  I won’t be like those Pharisees who believed, but did not confess Him; who, “loved the praise of men more than the praise of God” (John 12:43).  Feel free to disagree, but know that I fear God more than any man, so I will not be shaken.

Leave a Reply

