My spiritual act of Worship

Romans 12:1–Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual (or reasonable) act of worship.

Sometimes we are called to do things in God’s kingdom that aren’t very glamorous.  I have been in our church’s nursery for the last two-and-a-half-ish years with my two kids and sometimes I struggle with it.  Some days I sit around having a pity party saying to myself, “Why won’t anybody minister to me?”  Or, “Who’s going to serve me?  Somebody needs to take care of Stacy.”  I claim 1 Cor 12:26, “If one part suffers, every part suffers with it; if one part is honored, every part rejoices with it,” and say, “I’m suffering, so we are all suffering, right?”  This causes feelings of resentment and usually takes me into a period of depression.

I have a different attitude lately, though, and it has been a refreshing change.  You see, if you read the whole chapter, you see there is more to it than that.   Verses 4-6 say, “There are different kinds of gifts, but the same Spirit.   There are different kinds of service, but the same Lord.  There are different kinds of working, but the same God works all of them in all men.”  So, I don’t need to expect somebody else to do the same things that God has called me to do.  I shouldn’t expect a hand to be an eye, nor should I expect and ear to be a foot.

So, being in the church nursery with my kids is my spiritual act of worship (one of them).  I have been guilty of having the thought, “Why do I even go to church?  I don’t get to worship with anybody else, so I might as well stay home.”  However, I know in my heart that I go because I want to worship God.  I am worshiping Him in a different way, but that doesn’t make it any less acceptable to Him.  As long as I have this attitude, cleaning can be an act of worship, weeding my lawn (which I should do more often), making dinner, buying groceries . . . whatever I have to do can be an act of worship.  I don’t always have the right attitude, but I do more often now than I used to.  A living sacrifice has to live.  It isn’t always exciting, but God accepts it all the same.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linden Wolfe
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 11:12:02

    I love your transparency and insight. Very refreshing – thanks for sharing!!!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: what’s your temperature? « Spit and Mud

Leave a Reply

