Older and Wiser

There is a They Might Be Giants song that has the line, “I was young and foolish then, I feel old and foolish now.”  I quote it occasionally, despite the fact that nobody I say it to probably knows what I’m talking about (I do it with random movie quotes, too).  Today, though, I feel older, wiser, and significantly more blessed.  Let me explain.

I have been a Christian for a little under ten years.  Before that, I was not very Christ-like.  I made a lot of stupid mistakes.  I did a lot of things that I’m not proud of.  One of the things that I regret most about my past is that I was unable to let people know the real me.  I’m sure there are reasons for this (I made some excuses for it here).  The point is that I had a lot of people who I considered friends who didn’t really know me.  I probably didn’t get to know them as well as I should have, either.

Since my conversion (November 2001), though, I have strongly desired deep, intimate relationships, but I have found only a very few in that time.  Recently, however, I have gotten back into contact with at least one person from my college years and it has been such a blessing.  It is funny how God can take something so broken and turn it into something so beautiful.

That’s what He does, though, as it says in 2 Cor 5:17, “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.”  My broken relationships, my broken self, everything has been made new.  The old things have passed away, not in that they are now gone, but in that they are of a different (and I would say better) character.

So, to my old friends I say, come and know me better now.  To those who knew me, but not well,  I say, come and know me in a new way.  To those who never knew me I say, all the better since you have nothing to overcome in our relationship.  I truly desire to be an open book, so ask away.  No reasonable question will go unanswered if you sincerely want to know the real me.

Leave a Reply

